Obituaries

03/29/2020 - 6:25pm
  LaVerne Anderson, 63, died Saturday, March 28, 2020, at his home outside of Ossian. A service will take place at Calmar Lutheran Church Wednesday, April 1, at 11 a.m., with immediate family in attendance. The service will be live streamed on Calmar Lutheran’s Facebook page. A celebration of life will take place at LaVerne’s home, “Andyland,” at a later date.  
03/11/2020 - 1:50pm
Ronald G. Kruger, 65, of West Union, passed away Monday, March 2, 2020, at the Good Samaritan Nursing Center in West Union. Memorial service will be at a later date. The full obituary appears in the March 17, 2020 Calmar Courier.
03/05/2020 - 3:46pm
Lawrence Elsbernd, 92, of Calmar, died Wednesday, March 4, 2020, at Wellington Place in Decorah. Mass of Christian Burial was at 10:30 a.m., Monday, March 9, at St. Aloysius Catholic Church, 304 South Maryville St., Calmar, with the Rev. Robert Gross with burial in the church cemetery. Visitation was from 2 to 6 p.m. Sunday, March 8, and after 9:...
03/04/2020 - 10:47am
Kathleen “Kay” Humpal, 87, of Decorah, died Wednesday, Feb. 26, 2020, at Barthell O.E.S Home in Decorah. Mass of Christian Burial was at St. Wenceslaus Catholic Church in Spillville at 11 a.m. Tuesday, March 3 with the Rev. Robert Gross with burial in the parish cemetery. Arrangements were handled by Schluter-Balik Funeral Home. The...
02/24/2020 - 1:50pm
Don William Ott was born in St. Lucas June 17, 1936. Mass of a Christian Burial was at 10:30 a.m., Friday, Feb. 28, at Our Lady’s Immaculate Heart Catholic Church, 510 East 1st St., Ankeny. Visitation was from 5 to 7 p.m. Thursday, Feb. 27, at the church with a 7 p.m. prayer service. The full obituary appears in the March 3, 2020 Calmar...
02/24/2020 - 1:48pm
Leona Croatt, 99, of St. Lucas, died Friday, Feb. 21, 2020, at Aase Haugen Senior Services in Decorah. Mass of Christian burial was at 10:30 a.m., Friday, Feb. 28, at St. Luke Catholic Church, in St. Lucas, with the Rev. Aaron Junge with burial in the church cemetery. Visitation was from 5 to 7 p.m. Thursday, Feb. 27, at the church and also after...
Syndicate content