Winneshiek County Dairy Banquet Crowns Royalty


Pictured (l-r) are 2018 Dairy Princess candidate Hanna Schmitt, 2017 Dairy Princess Jessica Schmitt, 2018 Alternate Dairy Princess Stacia Sexton, 2018 Dairy Princess Bailey Miculinich and 2018 Dairy Princess candidate Jenna Knutson. Photo by Kristi Hallberg.

Editor’s note: Information from Kristi Hallberg and the event program.

The 2018 Winneshiek County Dairy Princess is Bailey Miculinich.

Crowning took place Saturday at De Sales School in Ossian for the event, the 55th annual.

The 2018 Little Mr. Herdsman is John “Toby” Schnitzler, and 2018 Little Miss Squirt is Autumn Schmitt.

Dairy Promoter of the Year recognition went to Don Jose in Decorah.

Top 10 of Top 10% winners included first place: Dennis and Barb Mashek, accepted by Tanner Mashek; second place: Schmitt Dairy, Inc., accepted by Glen Schmitt; third place: Einck Dairy, accepted by Logan Einck and fourth place: Brian and Dave Bigler, accepted by Brian Bigler; fifth place: Knutson Brothers, accepted by Mark Knutson; sixth and tenth places: Northeast Iowa Diary Foundation, accepted by Mariah Schmitt; seventh place: Rand-A1 Farm; eighth place: Bruce and Julie Buddenberg, accepted by Bruce Buddenberg and ninth place: Paul and David Schmelzer, accepted by Paul Schmelzer.

Read more in the April 10 edition of the Calmar Courier.

These photos are available for purchase through our Smugmug photo site.