SW Track Returns Experience


* The Soboys’ track team. Photo by Tina HagemanThe South Winneshiek boys’ track team    

A good group of young men was lost to graduation, but Coach Scott Conway has some optimism about South Winneshiek’s boys’ track.

Losses include Joel Hanson, Alex Holthaus, Matthew Holthaus, Noah Kuboushek, Jacob Ling, Collin Monroe, Brett Styve and Nathan Ward.

“This was a tough group of seniors to lose,” said Conway. “They did everything and anything that was asked of them. They stepped up big when it mattered. They were excellent leaders and role models. Alex, Matthew, Noah, and Nathan all competed at the state meet and ran in top notch relays. Alex, Matthew, and Nathan along with then junior Rodney Schwartzhoff ran in the State Championship Sprint Medley. This whole group worked hard day in and day out. They showed up for practices and brought positive attitudes. As a result, they consistently improved from year to year and throughout the season.”

Read more in the March 20 edition of the Calmar Courier.


* Full Caption: The South Winneshiek boys’ track team includes (kneeling, l-r): Dylan Hageman, Toby Conway, Mark Flores, Damon Meyer, Cael Kuboushek, Ty Jacobsen, Jacob Herold, Ethan Luzum and Zach Taylor; middle row: Carter Wenthold, Collin Wiltgen, Jaron Todd, Kody Kleve, Derek Dietzenbach, Carson Bohr, Tony Hanson, Paxten DeVilbiss, Emmet Schwartzhoff and Quentin Hageman and back row: Cayden Kleppe, Noah Tieskoetter, Brennan Holthaus, Rodney Schwartzhoff, Braxton Smith, Levi Lukes, Paul Hageman, Luke Davis and Eric Franzen. Not pictured: Nathan Kruse, JT Monroe, Jamison Meyer and Dawson Huinker. Photo by Tina Hageman